Anne Webster Women’s Triples

Winner B Event, (L to R) Joan Firkins (skip), Marcia Thorneycroft (vice), Barb Davidge (lead)

2nd C Event, Ann Bodley-Scott (skip, Gordon Head LBC), Luci Ewen (lead, Oak Bay LBC), Elaine Ratcliffe (vice, Gordon Head LBC)

The Anne Webster tournament, the last women’s BSI tournament of the season, was held at the Lake Hill Lawn Bowling Club on Sept. 12th and 13th. Sixteen teams, consisting of a skip, a third, and a novice, participated in the tournament.

Three teams from Oak Bay participated in the 2 day event. They included Linda Cowie’s team with Karen Evans and Suzanne Ewen, runners up in the B Event (no photo available); Betty Walker’s team with Louise Mason, and Liz Fraikin, runners up in the B Event (no photo available), and Joan Firkins’ team with Marcia Thorneycroft, and Barb Davidge. All 3 teams made it into the B division semi final, but only Joan Firkins’ team made it into the B final. They went on to win their final game against a team from Vic West, and won  the B division final. Congratulations to all, especially Barb Davidge who was playing in her first BSI tournament.


Reporting by Marcia Thorneycroft & Eric Ballinger. Photos by Marcia Thorneycroft & Suzanne Ewen